Testimonials

Reviews can also be found by clicking the following link: 

http://www.houzz.com/browseReviews/jmdaigle



 

Relationship: Client
Project Date: June 2015
Project Price: $50,000 - $100,000
Genus Loci has done 3 separate projects for us. We live on a rural property in Richmond Hill, Ontario that is just under an acre.It is an old bungalow that used to be a farm. There is a back deck where we did all of our entertaining and relaxing but this is the smallest part of the yard. The largest part is at the side of the house and we wanted to transform that area so that we could move our leisure activities and guests to that part of the yard. With this in mind, the first project that Genus Loci did for us in 2010 was installing a two tiered pond with a waterfall and landscaping around the pond. The cost was $10,000. The results were dramatic. A beautiful pond with such an amazing visual and auditory experience of tranquility. Your eye always goes there and it attracts a large number of birds and frogs. We even saw a large turtle there once!Our house had a long and wide gravel driveway which had no curb appeal. For our second project in 2012 Genus loci created a stone driveway using brussels block, edged with large rocks where the driveway meets the road. They did some planting using ornamental grasses on both sides of the driveway at the road, and added a big rock with our house number engraved on it and an uplight for night illumination, plus two entrance lights, at a cost of $50,000? The completed work looked like an estate property rather than an old farmhouse. It completely transformed the look of our house. The third project was in the summer of 2015. Genus Loci built a poolside pergola and deck and created a brussels block patio. Landscaping was done around the deck/patio and extended to the pond which they installed in 2010. Landscaping also continued around an existing shed and stone waterfall which is connected to the pool. This tied everything together at a cost of $20,000.Jean Marc, Simone, Peter and the rest of the team were amazing. They take your vision and create a drawn plan which is easy to understand, they assess your needs and incorporate that into the plan. They explored ideas with us and brain stormed and this created a visual image that far surpassed our original conception of the project. Once they provided us with the drawn plans they were open to tweaking it and adding other ideas. The Genus Loci team have always been open, friendly, professional and very hard workers. They are focused on keeping their workspace clean and tidy, not leaving any traces that a work crew has been there.We have had other contractors that completed rennos on our home and we were forever picking up nails and screws and scraps of materials. We have had to cleanup oil spills on our driveway and replant damaged grass. It was refreshing not to have to worry about any of that with Genus Loci. They are an environmentally sensitive company which goes a long way for us. The teams' creativity and focus on detail has created an outdoor oasis that far surpasses any resort we have stayed at during our many travels.



Relationship: Client
Project Date: June 2015
Project Price: $50,000 - $100,000
Jean-Marc Daigle and his team at Genus Loci designed and built our swimming pond for us last June. We contacted them in the winter and they met with us to discuss exactly what we wanted and to inspect the site. They presented us with detailed plans and discussed all aspects of the design (including the pond itself, the plants going in the pond, a deck over the pond, rocks and stonework behind the house and near the pond, and their landscaping proposal for the whole area around the pond). They did this in good time so that when spring came and the ground thawed, we were all ready to go. They told us they would come the first week of June and that it would take 2-3 weeks to get the pond and landscaping and this is exactly what happened. The team of workers were all knowledgeable and friendly, and it was fascinating for us to watch them construct a complete new landscape and pond behind our home. The design team were very responsive to our wishes (even including a little sand “beach” for the babies in our family), made great suggestions (like a stone “path” through the pond so we can get to the woods without walking all the way around), and helped us with detailed instructions and demonstrations of how to care for our new pond. The few little glitches (a decorative stone fell off the filter, the waterfall needed a little/Users/jpolivy/Pictures/iPhoto Library/Piews/2015/06/11/20150611-221439/IMG_1189.jpg adjusting) were handled immediately. Everyone loves our pond and the hot weather last summer meant that even the non-swimmers in our family jumped into the nice plunge area to cool off! Working with Marc, Simon and the rest of the team was fun and they were totally professional and responsive to us in every way. The pond is the highlight of our new house and we’re thrilled with it and with Genus Loci for building it



Relationship: Client
Project Date: May 2015
Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999
When my husband and I moved to our 1.25 acre country property, we knew the team at Genus Loci were the professionals we wanted to install our pond. From site visit to completion, Jean Marc and his team did an outstanding job - our pond is gorgeous! Jean Marc really listened when we told him we wanted a natural-looking pond that would attract wildlife and fit with the landscape. He and his team came up with a plan which included detailed drawings and he was able to work within our timeline and our budget. Jean Marc and his crew were friendly, professional and extremely efficient - the project was completed on time and on budget. The end product shows a deep understanding of, and commitment to the environment and nature and the quality of the work is top-notch! We have had many compliments on the pond from our friends and neighbours. There are many pond installers out there but none as qualified and professional as the team at Genus Loci! Thank you Jean Marc! We look forward to enjoying our pond for many years (and sharing it with the frogs, dragonflies and other wildlife that come to visit)!



Relationship: Client
Project Date: September 2014
These guys came recommended to me for both the quality of their work and their "environmental" bend. While we probably didn't use their ecological skills to any great extent, we had a great experience. Jean-Marc, Simon and Peter are great people and take a lot of pride in putting together a great experience for clients from design to implementation. The implementation team was friendly, courteous and kept the place tidy every night. Most importantly they put together a spectacular backyard...

I would say they are a premium provider, but you get a premium product. We now have a big wow factor in our backyard, all the trades guys that came through commented on the great quality and design not to mention our friends comments.

Biggest recommendation is to get to them early as they are busy if you don't want to wait for your project to get done, but I guess this is pretty much industry standard these days.



Relationship: Client
Project Date: December 2014
Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999
We chose Genus Loci on the basis of favourable ‘Homestars’ reviews and word of mouth. We contacted Jean Marc and his team to do a full renovation of our back yard in Winter 2014-15. We found the design team to be charming, knowledgable and accommodating of our ideas. Jean Marc worked closely with us to tailor our plans so as to avoid both excess costs and false economies without compromising the quality of the finished product.
The project was completed in three stages in order to fit in with the impending winter and other clients. The construction team were always approachable, respectful, and very efficient; each stage was completed in a short space of time and the site left tidily at the end of every day. The quality of the workmanship is exceptional – every surface is level and every angle is square. Any (inevitable) issues were dealt with swiftly and without challenge; including the replacement of a row of cedars that perished in last year’s unusually cold winter.
It was a pleasure to work with Genus Loci and we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them to a friend or indeed use them again, ourselves.



Relationship: Client
Project Date: April 2015
Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999
Initially we contacted Genus-Loci in August 2014 needing detailed plans and a quotation for constructing a demonstration rain garden under a program offered by Lake Simcoe Regional Conservation Authority. They delivered, on very tight timelines a beautiful and very detailed set of plans. We believe these plans helped us in the approval process.
To follow up Genus-Loci did two projects for us in 2015.
1)They installed a rain garden, a terrestrial garden and a bio-swale. Jean-Marc, Simon & Peter met with us in January to come up with design plans. We found them easy to talk to and willing to listen. The rain garden design had to blend in with existing landscaping. They never tried to upsell us and in fact they offered suggestions that would save money without compromising the designs. In March we met again to go over their detailed design plans and a quotation for landscaping services. They spent time going over both with us and answering any questions or concerns we had. By the end of the meeting we were satisfied and signed on.
Construction started as soon as the ground was workable and was completed in a timely manner. We were very happy with the end product. The rain garden blended in very well with existing landscape. The plants were healthy and as requested, all native to attract butterflies, bees and birds.
We were very impressed with all of Genus-Loci’s staff. Everyone worked well together. They were respectful of us, our property, our neighbors and each other. The crew kept the worksite clean and uncluttered throughout the project.
2)In December we contacted Jean-Marc requesting a quote on an interlocking stone terrace off our patio doors. He came over to look at the site and recommended changes that could be made to our original terrace. He suggested we use our original pavers to keep cost down and to add a stone retaining wall to increase the overall size. Simon came over the next day to measure and go over our plan. He sent us a design later in the day and answered any questions we had. They were on site early the next morning to start demolition. Within 3 days the project was completed to our satisfaction.

All members of the Genus-Loci team were professional and friendly. Jean-Marc, Simon and Peter always responded quickly when we had questions. Their landscape designs and contracts were clear and concise, leaving nothing to guess work. The whole team was a pleasure to work with. We have recommended Genus-Loci to others and would certain use their services again in the future.



Relationship: Client
Project Date: September 2015
Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999
Genus Loci did two projects for us. The first being landscaping our property front and back. On the front a pondless waterfall was installed on a hill we had. Along with the rocks there is also a great selection of perennials, shrubs, etc. The back landscaping includes a dry stream bed with a rock bridge and again great selection of perennials, shrubs and small trees. They also put in a stone patio and increased our walkway alongside the house.
I found the team to be very professional, knowledgeable and flexible. They worked with me to make slight changes in order to come in on budget and still have a great look. Project was completed on time. Property was left clean.

The second project was to build a ramp onto our back deck. They were able to source the same materials that original deck was made out of and created a ramp that looks like it was part of the original deck. Again came in on time and within budget.

Genus Loci is a great organization to work with and I would definitely use them again in the future if the need arises.





Houzz


Picture

To everyone at Genus Loci:

Thanks for a job well done! We were very pleased with the design work which helped us explore our needs and adjusted to the circumstances of our yard very well. The installation was both efficient and well done - good materials, careful planting, timely, and adaptable as the plan took shape. Most important, it is ecologically friendly! We're looking forward to enjoying the maturing natural beauty. 

- Grace & Bruce Milner, Richmond Hill



At every step of the project, the Genus-Loci team exceeded my expectations. In taking our concept from the design phase through to masterful execution, these guys were attentive to our needs and always demonstrated professionalism. On time, on budget and ten times better than we ever expected - we now have a xeriscape/shade garden/butterfly garden that is the talk of the neighbourhood. Exceptional people, and a pleasure to work with the entire crew.

- Tina Rogers, Kleinburg



Picture

We are writing to say how pleased we are with the pond landscaping which was recently completed. It was a pleasure to work with you and the others at Genus-Loci from the initial design through to the actual construction. Everything was as you promised at the onset - the start and completion dates were accurate and your crew was a pleasure to have on the property, knowledgeable, pleasant and very neat.
 
It was great to have the project completed professionally, on time and within the budget. We would certainly recommend Genus- Loci to everyone.
 
Thank You,

- Mr. and Mrs. R.H.McCoy



Genus Loci did a great job for us especially in the site development of our new home,from earth moving, plant selections, flagstone and all those little 'extras'.  Everyone was professional, co-operative and a pleasure to work with.  I would definitely recommend Genus Loci without hesitation or reservation.

- S. and B. Wolff



It was indeed a pleasure working with you on our recent landscaping projects. From the path at the side of the home - now paved with flag and pea stones, to the steps down to our nicely contoured cobble stone patio leading to our garden, our back yard now looks immaculate, with the waterfall in place.

Your idea for the new deck, with the wide stairs looks great and is so much more inviting and accommodating.

The finished project has definitely enhanced the natural beauty and functionality of our property.

You and your dedicated crew were extremely professional and well organized. We thank you for a job ‘Well Done’

We are pleased to recommend to prospective customers and would be happy to share more of our experience with them.

- Hewley and Merle Chung



Hi Jean-Marc,                                                                                           May 12, 2009

Just a "wee" note of appreciation for doing a wonderful job on our front walkway complete with landscaping.

We believe you have developped an excellent company that displays high quality of workmanship and work ethic in your employees. It is wonderful to see this in a company today and we are certain you will continue to do well in the years ahead.

We will certainly recommend you to others and suggest they check out your website as it is also excellent.

Take care & have a great season.

- Marg and John Howe

image